The Coalition of Large Tribes attends the first-ever Tribal Intergovernmental Advisory Committee, which helps to build upon the need to advocate for Tribal sovereignty.

Rosebud President Herman, Oglala Councilman Yellow Boy and Northern Arapaho Councilman Spoonhunter were all selected to serve. Congratulations to our COLT member Tribes representation in working with HUD on critical issues for Indian Country.


HUD No. 22-241
HUD Public Affairs
(202) 708-0685
November 29, 2022


Announcement precedes 2022 White House Tribal Nations Summit on the progress made to strengthen Nation-to-Nation relationships and invest record levels of resources in Tribal communities

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) announced the members of the first-ever Tribal Intergovernmental Advisory Committee (TIAC). HUD Secretary Marcia L. Fudge is launching the committee to strengthen the nation-to-nation relationship between HUD and Tribal communities, coordinate policy across all HUD programs, and advise on the housing priorities of the American Indian and Alaska Native peoples. The function of TIAC is not to replace Tribal consultation, but rather serve as a tool to supplement it. The establishment of this first ever committee follows consistent engagement between HUD and Tribes across the county.

Announced during Native American Heritage Month and preceding the 2022 White House Tribal Nations Summit, the committee is born out of a 2021 Presidential memorandumthat directed all federal agencies to take actions to strengthen their policies and practices on Tribal consultation. That same year, HUD Secretary Fudge announced her intention to establish the first HUD Tribal advisory committee. Public comment was taken into consideration regarding both the structure of the committee and the nomination of its members. HUD’s goal in selecting the committee members was to reflect appropriate representation across the federally recognized tribes. Several HUD representatives will serve on the committee as well.

“With the creation of the first-ever Tribal Intergovernmental Advisory Committee, HUD continues to answer the President’s call to strengthen our relationships with our Tribal partners,” said HUD Secretary Marcia Fudge, “As we commemorate Native American Heritage Month, I’m proud to move forward alongside this new Committee with such esteemed members, who will help us to address the unique concerns of Indian Country.”

“During Native American Heritage Month, we celebrate the many contributions of American Indians and the influence they have had on our country,” said Deputy Secretary Adrianne Todman. “I’m thrilled to work hand-in-hand with our new Tribal Intergovernmental Advisory Committee in creating increased opportunities for Tribes and Tribal communities.” 

Below is the complete list of committee members:

TIAC Members

Gary Batton, Chief, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, Durant, Oklahoma.

Darren Brinegar, Tribal Legislator, Ho-Chunk Nation, Black River Falls, Wisconsin.

Glenn Ellis, Jr., Council Member, Makah Indian Tribe, Neah Bay, Washington.

Tina Glory-Jordan, Secretary of State, Cherokee Nation, Tahlequah, Oklahoma (at-large).

Denise Harvey, Council Member, Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde, Grand Ronde, Oregon.

Victoria Hobbs, Legislative Council Representative, Tohono O’odham Nation, Sells, Arizona.

Patricia MacDonald, Council President, Healy Lake Village, Fairbanks, Alaska.

Jacqueline Pata, 1st Vice President, Central Council of Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska, Juneau, Alaska.

Marshall Pierite, Chairman, Tunica-Biloxi Tribe of Louisiana, Marksville, Louisiana.

Bridgett Sorenson, Board of Director, Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, Kincheloe, Michigan.

Lee Spoonhunter, Council Member, Northern Arapaho Tribe of Wyoming, Fort Washakie, Wyoming.

Arch Super, Council Member, Karuk Tribe, Happy Camp, California

Scott Herman, Chairman, Rosebud Sioux Tribe, Rosebud, South Dakota

Teri Nutter, Elected Official, Gulkana Village, Gakona, Alaska

Tyler Yellow Boy, Council Member, Oglala Sioux Tribe, Oglala, South Dakota

HUD Representatives

Assistant Secretary, Office of Public and Indian Housing.

Assistant Secretary, Office of Policy, Development, and Research.

Assistant Secretary, Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity.

Assistant Secretary, Office of Field Policy Management.

Assistant Secretary, Office of Housing.

Assistant Secretary, Government National Mortgage Association.

Assistant Secretary, Office of Community Planning and Development.


HUD’s mission is to create strong, sustainable, inclusive communities and quality affordable homes for all.
More information about HUD and its programs is available at and

You can also connect with HUD on social media and follow Secretary Fudge on Twitter and Facebook or sign up for news alerts on HUD’s Email List.

HUD COVID-19 Resources and Fact Sheets

Learn More About HUD’s Property Appraisal and Valuation Equity Work